## CHAPTER 99, FLORIDA STATUTES — QUALIFYING FEES FOR PROPERTY APPRAISERS

To: Honorable D. O. Oxley, Clerk of Circuit Court, Nassau County Courthouse, Fernandina Beach, Florida

Prepared by: Division of Elections

This is in reply to your inquiry requesting a determination of the filing fee and committee assessment for elected property appraisers of the several counties of the State of Florida.

Attorney General Shevin, in AGO 076-146, set forth the method of determining the required fees taking specific account of the special qualification salary for qualified property appraisers.

The AGO 076-146 opines that the amount of the qualifying fees should be calculated on the basis of the maximum salary authorized irrespective of whether the incumbent of the office has yet attained such maximum salary level.

Further, the special qualification salary is to be included as part of the estimate of annual salary with respect to all candidates who would be eligible to receive it if successful in their bid for election. Such \$2,000 per annum salary flows to an appraiser upon the certification of said appraiser by the Florida Department of Revenue.

The Department of Administration's estimate of population July 1,1975, is to be used for the purpose of calculating the qualifying fees.

An example of the formula provided in AGO 076-146, Appendix A, B and C, is as follows, e.g., for Leon County:

Step 1.

Base salary determined under Section 145.10(1), Florida Statutes. Applying DOA's July 1, 1975, estimate of population

Leon County's estimated population Base Salary (100,000 - 199,000) 133,204 Group IV = 21.000

Step 2.

Population increment under Section 145.10(1), Florida Statutes.

Leon County's estimated population 133,204

Group IV minimum population

100,000

33,204 Step

3.

Population increment times group rate

33,204 x .025 =

830.10

Step 4.

Total base salary and population increment 21,000 + 830.10 =

21,830.10

Step 5.

Cost of living adjustment Section 145.18(1), Florida Statutes. Repealed effective July 1, 1976, preserving previously certified adjustments

Chapter 76-80, Laws of Florida

\$21,830.10 x 1.211 =

26,436.25110

Step 5A.

Regarding qualified certified property appraisers (Supra)

\$26,436.25110

2,000.00

\$28,436.25110

Step 6.

Filing fee:

Certified property appraiser candidates

28,436.25110 x .03 =

853.0875

Candidates not qualifying for special

qualification salary:

 $26,436.25110 \times .03 =$ 

793.0875

Step 7.

## **Committee assessment**

Certified property appraiser candidates

28.436.25110 x .02 =

568.725

Candidates not qualifying for Section 145.10(2), Florida Statutes, special qualification salary

26.436.25110 x .02 =

528.725

Step 8.

## Total Fees

Candidates certified as property appraisers

	Filing fee <b>853.0875</b>
Committee assessment	568.725
	1421.8125
Candidates not qualified as property appraisers	
Filing fee	793.0875
Committee assessment	<u>528.725</u>
	1321.8125

I trust that this recapitulation proves to be of some assistance.